Tuesday, July 22, 2008

National Tequila Day

This Thursday, July 24th is National Tequila Day. The Franklin Inn is celebrating with a Tequila Tasting. We've invited our Sauza Rep, Charles, to teach us a little about this special ingredient that reaches all the way back to the Aztecs in Mexico. One of the elements that makes tequila unique is the Blue Agava plant. A beautiful plant that looks like a cactus but is really a member of the Lily family.

There are two categories of Tequila:
100% Blue Agava Tequila
- 100% of the sugars come from the Blue Agave Plant
- Bottled only in designated regions of Mexico
Mixto Tequila
- At least 51% of the sugars must come from Blue Agave
- May be shipped in bulk and bottled in other countries

There are four types of Tequila:
- Joven: (or Gold): Unaged Tequilas that get their color from added caramel colorings.
- Blanco (or Silver): Unaged clear tequila.
- Reposado (or Rested): Aged for at least two months in wooden barrels.
- Añejo (or Aged): Aged 12 months or more in wooden barrels.

For more information on Tequila, come to the Tequila Tasting at the
Franklin Inn on Thursday, July 24th at 9pm.

Interesting links about Tequila:Agava Facts
Tequila Quiz
The Mexican Tequila Academy
Tequila, Jalisco, Mexico

Drink Recipes Using Tequila

Cooking with Tequila
More Cooking with Tequila

No comments: